TIPS FOR MEDICAL STUDENTS...


MEDICAL SCHOOL YEARS 1 AND 2

Let me use this opportunity to reach out to currently studying medical students. This post will address freshers (ie. currently starting or just finishing year one)

Like i've stated in IMG DIARIES, i graduated from Ukraine, Odessa State Medical that later got changed to National.
I remember year one...the energy, the freedom, the fresh start (most of us ran from Madonna University Okija. You probably did too).

Here's some advice that you might find useful:

First...Pay attention to the language. In our years 1 and 2 we had Russian classes and it was a handful, mostly because our teacher would give us a lot of homework and she had a way of motivating us to do it. We were very grateful for her in later years. Let me tell you, when you get into your older years and start clinicals, you will find that even teachers will relate to you better if you understand the language. In Ukraine, some parts speak Russian and others Ukrainian...pay attention to the language as much as you can...your a** may depend on it!

Second...Forget the what people say that there is no opportunity in Ukraine, you will be surprised at how much is out there if you take your time to go out. So i'm saying go out...In your free time, explore your city...take an outgoing friend along if you are not yourself. I guess this worked for me because we were only 7 Nigerians in my set so we had to socialize with others. This might be difficult if you end up in a city like Lughansk, Ternopil (or a place with a lot of Nigerians). But find a way to socialize with the local people. I might be speaking only due to experience from Odessa ooh but i found it very helpful.

Third...keep an open mind. Truly there is no where in the world where there is no racism. Even in Nigeria we do exhibit it. Even among people of the same skin color. So please, if you keep saying the people are racists and keep judging based on one or two experiences, you will miss out on the truly nice things 'abroad' has to offer. For a fact you will meet racists, but for a fact you will also meet genuine open minded people.

Fourth...Give some thought to where you want to go after your 6 years. Might be too early but the earlier the better, because your second year is when to start planning to write USMLE if you fancy the U.S.
It won't be too early to start making your analysis at all including cost and study work because the ideal time to write Step 1 would be summer after third year to beginning of forth year and you will be surprised how time flies.

Fifth...Use your summer wisely. First year and Second year summer is time to really revise the course work and do some personal studying (ANATOMY). Our Ukrainian system taught us how to study for personal benefit...you can use that to your advantage. You can also flex and find work...depending on how industrious you are as a person.


Thats all for now...i will be leaving advice for year 2-3 students in my next post


You could relate your experiences in a comment...till next time.
Ciao.


0 comments:

Post a Comment